Tags

, ,

I haven’t been able to post in a while because I have a new full time job. I imagine my posting will drop off throughout the fall semester–and probably the spring semester as well–because I’m adjusting to a new schedule and new classes. I wish that wasn’t so, but I have to prioritize my time. And non-work related reading and writing has to go way down if I want to do my job and live a life with fibromyalgia.

I was spoiled for the last three years in that I was able to work part-time, but it’s just not financially good for our family. This new job comes with major benefits–the health insurance alone is worth having this job. I now have a $300 deductible, insurance pays for 80% of everything else after that, I only have to pay $211 per paycheck to get it, and it covers massage therapy. I’m so excited to try massage as a way to help relieve pain. I never did before because it’s expensive, but now I can. It’s so sad that I find myself in this bind–work a full time job to get health insurance that’s worth anything and thus health care that’s worth anything or work part-time and spend more than you afford, even after all of the reforms that came into effect after the Affordable Care Act. I know that working full-time will stress my body and increase my pain, but the benefits are just so appealing I just have to deal with it.

So I’m doing my best to get the rest and yoga and warm baths that I need to help manage the pain and fatigue. And I’m working on accepting that my life will be working, managing my fibro and fitting in time with my husband. And reading for fun and blogging and everything else will just have to wait.

Darn it.

