Tags

, ,

I have found that yoga is helpful in controlling some of my fibro symptoms (mostly pain, but also fatigue). I try to do it at least once a week, though in the past I used to do it two or three times a week. In the past few years I’ve also mixed in bicylcing and hiking and walks around the neighborhood, all of which are fun and helpful in their own way. But yoga is the most helpful so I make sure to fit it in. I haven’t been to any classes lately and I’ve been using a variety of yoga DVDs at home. I recently acquired a new one called Yoga: Gentle Practice and I find that it’s probably the best one yet for people with fibromyalgia.

It features Zyrka Landwijt as the instructor. She has a few other DVDs out, but I don’t know much else about her. I find her to be a good teacher for DVDs. This disc includes instructions on how to do 23 different poses, which is helpful if you’re doing yoga at home without a teacher to help you. From following her instructions I am more convinced than ever that I will never be able to do downward dog correctly, no matter how much I try to lengthen my hamstrings. I just don’t have the body to do it. The DVD also features six different workouts, which is more than other yoga DVDs and one of its chief attractions. Landwijt has a soothing voice and she’s working on a green mat in front of a white background with New Age-y music in the background. The yoga that she does is truly gentle–there are a few workouts where you don’t even stand up on the mat. Though they are gentle, they do provide a great workout. Afterwards I feel like I’m suitably stretched out and some of the annoying little pains are gone away. Plus, they help relieve some of the stress and anxiety that I’ve been feeling lately. I’m also feeling stronger and more flexible in ways that past yoga DVDs haven’t helped me do.

This may not be the best DVD for the hot yoga types or people who want to get a toned body, but it is great for those who have fibromyalgia or other pain conditions who require gentle workouts to help relieve some pain and not cause more pain. It also helps with stress relief, which I suppose those of us with fibro also frequently need. I’d recommend it for all fibro sufferers who want to practice yoga at home.

