Tags

,

Almost every time I go to the pharmacy I detest it. I don’t blame the pharmacists or the pharmacy techs for it–I’m sure it’s not fun for them either. It’s a small annoyance of having fibromyalgia–having to regularly pick up your prescriptions and supplements and over the counter pain relief. I think I have every pain patch and muscle rub that my local place sells. I’m sure it’s just the nature of the pharmacy that makes it terrible–busy parking lots, long lines, sick people, insurance issues, doctor issues, pay issues, the customer at the register trying to use her 10 for $10 coupon on soup and she got the wrong kind–all kinds of issues. And I just have to stand there and wait and be tempted to buy impulse items and listen to people complain about how awful it is to stand in line at the pharmacy.

I imagine if I went to hell, I’d just be stuck in the line at the pharmacy for all eternity. (I don’t think I’m going to hell–I just hate going to the pharmacy that much.) The only time I’ve ever had a pleasant experience at the pharmacy was when I went on Sunday morning when the parking lot only had a few cars in it. There wasn’t even a line at the cash register on that morning! I didn’t have to repeat my name or spell it (I love my name, but it is unusual so I don’t like telling it to strangers because it almost always requires comment) and they found my medicine with no problem.

Every other time, though: the line at the pharmacy is terrible. I’m down to just a few regular medications and I haven’t been as sick this year as I have in the past with the flu, sinus infections, colds, ear infections or viral complaints, so luckily I don’t have to go as often as I did in the past. But I need to go sometime in the next few days. Better get myself up early on Sunday.

(And I know some people can order their medication through the mail, but I can’t do that with my insurance plan. And I can’t bribe my husband enough to go stand in line for me.)

