Tags

, ,

This morning was the first all week that I woke up and didn’t feel pretty miserable. I got as much sleep as I needed and that always makes things more bearable. I know that getting enough sleep is important for everyone and that sleep-deprived people with all types of bodies will experience negative side effects, but for my fibro body sleep is everything. Everything. Otherwise, I dread getting out of the bed because as soon as I stand up, I feel aches and pains all over my body. It’s like when you exercise and your body is sore afterwards but times ten. It’s like when you lay on your arm and it goes numb (I call that feeling “falling asleep,” but I don’t know the technical term for it) and then you have to get up and shake it awake and there’s pain and tingles as you get the feeling back. It’s like that. Like my whole body has fallen numb and I have to shake it awake.

I understand that morning aches and pains are very common for people with fibromyalgia. In fact, right now, this pain is my primary pain symptom. After I shake myself out of it, I’m okay the rest of the day.

How do I shake myself out of it? Just moving around helps. Stretching helps. A hot-as-you-can-stand-it-for-as-long-as-you-can-take-it shower also helps. And sometimes I end up taking a naproxen sodium pill. I try not to take one every day because I’m worried about my stomach and liver, but sometimes I just have to. Especially if I have to work. Right now I’m sitting in an office in front of a computer all day, which is not good for my fibro symptoms. Well, standing in front of a classroom isn’t good for my body and fibro symptoms either. I guess it doesn’t matter what job I have–I always have to keep my fibro in mind.

(Here’s where the rant comes in. You can skip it if you don’t want to read someone complaining about firecrackers, but I just had to let it out.)

My neighbors need to stop lighting fireworks. The whole week of the Fourth they’re lighting them and the dog and I are jumping at random intervals and staying awake well into the night. I have never liked firecrackers popping (and many people with fibro have a hard time with them), but I can see the fun of lighting them on the Fourth. They’re fun and exciting and the big shows are pretty and they’re part of celebrating Independence. I get that. I also get that maybe you have some leftover and you pop off a few the next day. I don’t get the fascination with them that leads people to light them for days on end. I mean, once the holiday is over, go out by the river or out in the country, but don’t do it in town where you’re annoying your neighbors for days on end. You don’t know what your neighbors are putting up with. It’s just so thoughtless, especially when people are lighting them after midnight and it’s not the Fourth of July (it’s annoying then, too, but it’s understandable that people are still celebrating). My dog ends up glued to my side in bed, shaking and panting and whimpering and not letting me get restful sleep. And just when I think I’m falling asleep, one goes streaking and popping across the sky.

Great. Thanks, neighbors. I hope you have miserable mornings, too.

 

