Tags

, ,

So last time I wrote I was relishing the fact that I could have the same complaints about the heat as a person with a non-fibro body. For once, I thought, I can be like anyone else.

But on second thought…

Last week I took nap nearly every day, and they weren’t my usual twenty or thirty minute naps. They were an hour or longer naps, and I wanted to linger in bed or on the couch long after I woke up. I haven’t noticed any extra pain, just trouble with aches when I first wake up. They take time and hot showers and stretches to work off, but they don’t linger in my limbs all day long. It’s just the need for sleep that lingers.

And this week it’s going to be over 100 every single day. And it’s only the start of June–we have three more months of summer to get through. I know I live in the desert Southwest, but it isn’t like it’s over 100 every day of the summer–usually, anyway. This summer could be different. I don’t even want to think about our electricity bills–yesterday I had to run the air conditioner for almost the whole day.

I’m thinking of becoming a crepuscular animal (active at dawn and dusk rather than all day), which would allow me to rest in the hottest part of the day, but the schedule of regular American life won’t let me do that, especially when I start working again.

Although it’s so hot that the heat lingers long into the twilight and the darkness, so becoming crepuscular might not save me from the heat anyway.

I hate to be the type of boring person who talks at length about the weather, but man is it the thing that is affecting my life and my community right now.

Now I’m probably going to take a nap, despite all the things I have to do and want to do.

