Tags

, ,

So here come the one hundred degree days. First week of June and this coming Wednesday the temperature is supposed to hit 100 degrees F, although the rest of the week is only going to be in the 90’s. Only.

It might as well as be 100 if it’s 96 or 97, though. It still bakes you and your car and your home and your yard and everyone and everything. I wish I was more of  a morning person because it doesn’t really start heating up until 11. If I was willing to go to bed earlier, I could get up and get my chores and errands done early and then take a nap in the afternoon. (Hmmm…sounds like a plan I could start to put in place.) Some days I think, “I’ll just wait until the sun starts going down, it’ll be cooler then,” but we are fast approaching the time of the year where it really doesn’t cool off at night. (Although last night it did–we had some amazing wind and some teasing on the parts of the clouds–just no rain.) It’s like the ground and the trees and the cars are still holding the heat and reflecting it back out onto you. My husband says you call that the urban heat island. Thankfully our area isn’t that urban.

And the heat isn’t even the worst part of this time of year–the air conditioning is. I can live with my house being 80 degrees even in the hottest part of the day, but apparently everyone else has to keep their homes and stores at 68 or 70 degrees. Anytime indoors and I’m shivering and needing to put on a sweater. A sweater. In the height of summer. Then I go outside and I’m instantly sweating and regretting that my car has a dark interior. (I wonder if those changing temps have an impact on fibro pain…if they do, I haven’t noticed.)

Despite my complaining mood, the hot weather doesn’t bother my fibromyalgia all that much (I know it does increase other people’s symptoms, but that’s what this variable condition for you). For that I’m grateful–I get to complain like a regular person and not like one who has this chronic pain condition. It’s not that I always resent having fibromyalgia–it’s just nice not to have it be the thing that’s front and center in my mind. The cold is what really brings on my symptoms–that’s part of the reason why I live where I live. All of the baking heat in the world is worth it if it means I’m not aching and stinging and creaking and cracking from November to March–hell, even April was cold the last time I experienced it in the Midwest.

It’s just going to be hot, and I get to feel like everyone else for a bit.

