Tags

, ,

So I’ve been keeping this blog for one year now. It is the first blog I’ve ever kept. I wanted to keep one when I was younger, but I could never think of interesting topics and things I would want to share with a wide audience.  And I saw how too many people aired their dirty laundry online, and lived their lives online, and got so worked up about online drama. (I read a lot of LiveJournal blogs in my early twenties.) I knew I didn’t want to have all that extra stress just from a blog.

And then I got fibromyalgia, and it knocked me on my ass (as it does), and I found something that I could communicate with the world about that wouldn’t require too much invasion of my privacy. And the more voices that there are talking about this condition and how to live with it  the more it is made “real” to sufferers and non-sufferers alike. My one small voice can help to make a difference.

I’ve been very happy, writing away and finding other writers to follow–mostly people with fibro, but not all–but I just wish that I had more entries under my belt and could make more connections. There’s just not the time or the energy to do more, and I must admit that sometimes it’s hard to think of things to write about. I’m trying to decide if I want to write about more non-fibro topics or not. I guess that it’s okay, and readers can just skip over posts that don’t interest them, but my blog is called “fibromyalgianotebook.”

Anyway, I’m glad that I’ve stuck it out for one year and been committed to sharing my writing. I have always been a writer, but it’s been a private thing before this blog. It’s been interesting to make it public and to interact with an audience (however small).

Here’s to one year of fibromyalgianotebook!

And hopefully many more years to come.

