Tags

,

Today is a lovely spring day–a relatively calm day (wind gusts but not high sustained winds) with rich blue skies and a few clouds. The temperature is chilly, though. (61 Fahrenheit  which is chilly for this area, but not chilly for other areas.)

I am so glad that this day is calm and clear compared to the last two days. Those were days of wind and a pinky-brown sky full of so much dust it obscured the mountains that ring the valley where I live. These mountains made me feel claustrophobic at first, but now I use them to orientate myself in my world, and I feel lost without them. For two days I felt penned in by dust–sheets and curtains of dust blowing across the road and flinging themselves into the air, clouds of dust filling the sky from horizon to nearly the top of the dome, particles of dust that got into my lungs and up my noise. I don’t go out and exercise when the dust blows like that, so I stayed inside for two days and stretched and brooded ad looked out the widow.

The only good thing I can say about dusty days is that they make for an interestingly sunset–a mellow tan color, a strange light. I’ve been lots of watching Voyager lately and reading a really good sci-fi series (Probability Moon, Probability Sun, and Probability Space by Nancy Kerr) and I think, I wonder if the light is like this on other planets, in other skies I’ll never get to see. (It’s so easy for me to go on flights of fancy, even now as an adult.)

Other than that, dusty days make my head hurt and make it so I have to dust my house from floor to ceiling and then make me have even more respect for the people who lived through the Dust Bowl and had to try to clean even more dust out of their homes and had to live with dust pneumonia. At least once the spring winds pass, I won’t have to deal with such days. Although I do wonder what will happen with the on-going drought.

At least windy dusty days don’t make my body hurt. I guess that and sunsets make the last two days bearable.

 

