Tags

, , , ,

It feels like an actual winter’s day here–it’s been overcast all day, with a weak sun obscured by clouds. The temperature has hovered around 46 and just now it hit 50–probably the warmest it will be all day. But of course with no sun out it can’t even get close to being warm.

I had to get a bike ride in because I needed to exercise and wanted something to burn off those Christmas cookies. Plus, my ten year-old niece wanted to ride. Her goal is to be able to do the Toys for Tots ride next year (about seven miles) so we’re helping her build up her strength. We rode three miles today. I wanted to do more, but I was afraid the cold would get to me. Because I have fibromyalgia, the cold isn’t just cold to me; it can leave me in more pain than just exercising on a normal day can. So far I haven’t felt too much new pain, although the tips of my ears do feel a little cold still. Although that might be my imagination  Sometimes I think I can take the hyper-awareness of my body that comes with having to deal with fibromyalgia too far. Sometimes I worry that I’m erring on the side of caution a little too much.

I think later I’ll do some stretching and enjoy hot things to eat and drink and then just stay inside for the rest of the day. It’s nice to have a cozy winter’s day every now and then. I wouldn’t want to have lots of them in a row like I did when I was living further north,  but I like having one occasionally. Not a bad way to spend the second to last day of the year.

