Tags

, , , ,

There are countless festivals and fiestas this time of year in my part of the world–probably because we have such beautiful Septembers and Octobers. The weather cools enough so that you actually want to go outside and do things. This year the weather is even more mild. Apparently the unusually warm weather will be with us through the rest of the year. I hope it really does cool off soon, as much as my fibro symptoms benefit from the warmth.

This plant bloomed in the garden just this weekend.

Anyway, I always have to carefully choose which events I go to because we only have so much time on a weekend and too much walking tires me out. Last weekend I went to a festival with my mom. The good thing about going anywhere with just my mom is that she uses a cane due to arthritis and has to move a little slowly. I don’t think it’s good that she suffers so much, but it does make it easier for me to keep up with her. We walked around for at most an hour and I bought her some jewelry as a present. By the end of that short time period, the strap of my purse was hurting my shoulder (and it weighs at most three pounds since I don’t keep anything in there other than my wallet, some change, and my phone), and I was ready for a nap. I got home and said “I only need twenty minutes,” but ended up taking a forty minute nap. I was pretty upset because I had a long list of chores and shopping, and I had to end up putting some of it off til the next day. That’s the life of someone with fibromyalgia, I know, but sometimes I still wish I didn’t have to do that.

And yesterday evening we went to the fair. We ended up standing in line more than doing anything else, and we came home sooner than I wanted to, but again, my legs were getting tired. Luckily, my husband didn’t mind, but I felt bad for leaving while my sister and her kids were still having fun. I’m sure she’s used to me being tired and going home early, but I still feel bad.

So I’m trying to enjoy these beautiful days and manage my fibromyalgia, with only minimal negative feelings. At least I can get up and do things and enjoy the mellow golden days.

