Tags

,

Lately I haven’t been feeling too much of the pain that goes along with fibromyalgia. Instead, I’ve been focusing on the pain that comes from falling and having  knocked my pelvis out of place. I don’t know why that injury hasn’t aggravated my fibro pain symptoms. Maybe I’ve just been focusing on one and not the other. At any rate, I haven’t been feeling the all-over pain; I’ve mostly been feeling the fatigue and a swollen feeling throughout my body. (I dislike the words swell and swollen and swelling–they make me think of bad things like unwellness and rotting, but it is the best word to describe what is going on with my body.) I haven’t written about the swelling before because it hasn’t been an area of focus when I’m dealing with pain and mind-blanking fatigue, but lately it’s been bothering me.

Now it makes sense to me that after a long day of teaching and standing and driving and moving that my legs and ankles are swollen, but some mornings I feel like I’m swollen and delicate when all I’ve done is get out of bed. I don’t want to put on my work clothes when I feel this way. Right at that moment I can’t imagine anything more uncomfortable and confining than a button-down blouse. I want to wear something tight and streatchy and soft and supporting. So I slip on my jeans. And my long-sleeved cardigans, t-shirts and sweaters. This is one of the reasons why I want the cool and cold weather to hurry up already–I don’t want to be sweating in my long-sleeves that I feel are helping me feel better.

I don’t know why I sometimes feel swollen at the start of the day–maybe I had too much salt the day before, maybe I didn’t get enough sleep, maybe it’s just a weird come-and-go fibromyalgia thing. I did do a quick web search on swelling and fibromyalgia and found mostly discussion posts and sketchy looking “medical” sites so I suppose I’ll have to do more research. But the swollen feeling doesn’t really bother me all that much–my skin isn’t red or painful. It’s just a feeling of discomfort and a desire to have fabric close to my skin.  It’s like I have a cold and need a cup of chicken soup. And compared to other fibro symptoms—I almost feel like I’m complaining about nothing.

I’d like to feel up to wearing my dressy clothes on all of my work days, though.

