Tags

, , ,

My bike, Miss Schwinn

Since completing my 25 mile bike ride in Santa Fe, I’ve only been out on the bike a handful of times (really–just five times). One ride was 13 miles, another 10, and the other three rides were less than six miles. I would like to have done more rides, but with being busy, being on vacation and it being so hot I haven’t been able to do so. Or rather, the consequences of trying to push my fibro body in extreme heat are more than I want to handle. Fibro bodies often have a harder time dealing with hot temperatures. My husband can handle biking in the heat, but I end up having a headache and needing a nap.

This past week or so, the temperatures here have been in the low 90s, which is normal for this time of year, and which is lower than most of the rest of the United States and lower than it was earlier in the summer.  It was overcast yesterday afternoon so we decided to take bike ride that ended up being 10.9 miles. And I felt strong. And to my surprise I was actually having fun pushing myself and sweating and working out my lungs and racing my husband (he won, of course, being a stonger bicyclist than me). Usually when I exercise I start out feeling weak and then about halfway through start feeling good. But yesterday I was feeling strong and going at a 12 to 13mph pace from the start. How odd to feel like an athlete after being an indoor kind of girl all of my life, after coming down with fibromyalgia.

I’ve also been doing more yoga, since it’s something I can do indoors with the fan directed on me. It’s also better for me than biking because of my temporary work schedule. The schedule means I’m getting less rest and have more stress and that means more pain. So thirty minutes of stretching and controlling my breathing to not only exercise but also to relax is more helpful than biking.

So I’ve had to figure out how to modify my exercise routine base on my work schedule and the hot temperatures. This is an important part of living with fibromyalgia since exercise is one of the most important ways to deal with the pain. I feel very fortunate that after four years of trial and error I’ve found a routine that works for me. I mean, I’m at a 20% pain level, which hurts, but is so much lower than it  used to be.

