Tags

Every day I do what I think of as taking my pain temperature. I wake up, move around, stretch, shower, get my coffee and figure out what kind of pain I’ll be having that day. The pain level determines what I can do during the day. Other people might use a scale of 1-10, but I use a scale of 0 to 100% (maybe because I’m a teacher this scale comes more naturally to me, plus I can never land on whole number if I have to use the 1 to 10 scale; I always pick a 3.5 or 7.75).

Today I woke up and shook off the sleep a little bit and decided I was at a 10%. Luckily right now I’m not working (next week I start a summer workshop), so I can get plenty of rest and exercise and pace out my chores as needed, and that explains why I feel relatively pain free. Last night we took a walk and today I should do thirty or forty minutes of yoga. No pain reliever today because I can just bear it at this level.

But as healthy and strong as I feel right now, I don’t think I’ll get below 10% any time soon. That’s just my life . And today I don’t have a problem with it.

